Bellmore-Merrick Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Six students in the Bellmore-Merrick Central High School District have been named National Merit Semifinalists in the 2021 competition.

Connor Gibson and Stamatia Papazis from John F. Kennedy High School, Lucas Ahrens and Dakota Guo from Sanford H. Calhoun High School, and Samantha Green and Tyler O’Neill of Wellington C. Mepham High School were all included on the list.


1. Connor Gibson  Connor Gibson   

2. Stamatia PapazisStamatia Papazis

3. Lucas AhrensLucas Ahrens

4. Dakota GuoDakota Guo

5. Samantha GreenSamantha Green

6. Tyler O'NeillTyler O’Neill

“Once again we are in awe of the academic accolades achieved by our students,” said Superintendent John DeTommaso.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Approximately 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, qualified as semifinalists.

Finalists will be notified in February 2021 and scholarship winners will be announced in the spring of 2021.

Photos courtesy of the Bellmore-Merrick Central High School District

Leave A Reply