See Who Won What at LIIFE’s 2014 Awards Ceremony

The 17th Annual Long Island International Film Expo (LIIFE) drew to a close on Thursday​,​ July 17,  with the Closing Night Party and Awards Ceremony that included a buffet dinner in the Filmmakers Lounge  (Firemens Exempt Hall), where filmmakers informally gathered one last time to reminisce about 2014 LIIFE and talk about​​…film (of course)​.
SEAN YOUNGSean Young won a special Creative Achievement Award at the 2014 LIIFE.
(photo: Stephen Bodi)
The celebration continued into the Bellmore Movies for the award ceremony, where guests were treated to a special ​musical ​performance by Long Island native Noelle Yatauro. After a one-year absence Brian O’Halloran (“Clerks”) one again hosted the special evening, which also included presenters such as Marc Coppola (“Leaving Las Vegas”), John Nolan (“Taking Back Sunday”), Tom Pelphrey (“As the World Turns”) and Rich “Big Daddy” Salgado, a former National Football League player.
Actors Robert Davi (“License to Kill,” “Die Hard”) and Sean Young (“No  Way Out’, “Bladerunner,” “Stripes”) were on hand to receive the Long Island Filmmaker Achievement Award  and the Creative Achievement Award,​ respectively. Representing Nassau County was the Honorable Edward Mangano, County Executive​,​ who is an admirer of Davi’s work.
RobertDaviRobert Davi was awarded the LIIFEtime Achievement Award by the Long Island International Film Expo (photo: Stephen Bodi)
“There were so many great gems at this year’s Long Island International Film Expo. It was not an easy task for our seven judges to select the films in the first place, however, it was the audience ballots that really determined the winners,” said Debra Markowitz, the festival director and director of the Nassau County Film Office.  “In my personal opinion, everyone involved in 2014 LIIFE was a winner and should be applauded.”
ED MANGANOThe Honorable Edward Mangano, Nassau County Executive (second right) and his wife Linda (at right) with host Brian O’Halloran and Diane Devlin (photo:Stephen Bodi)
Already, plans are being made for  The 18th Annual Long Island International Film Expo, which will take place July 8 ​-​ ​July 16, 2015. Submission dates open in mid-​October 2014. Be Check for ​updates and more information.
Awards given out at the Closing Night Party and Awards Ceremony on Thursday, July 17:
Special Honorees
Robert Davi​ ​- ​Long Island Filmmaker Achievement Award
Sean Young​ ​- ​Creative Achievement Award
Best Student Film
“Tobacco Burn”
Best Animation
“Rabbit and Deer”
Best Documentary-Tie
“Buffalo Nation: The Children Are Crying” – Bellmore filmmaker Leslye Abbey
Best Music Video
“Ganesh is Fresh”
Best Trailer
Best Foreign Short
“Carry On”
Best Foreign Feature
“Tempo Girl”
Best First Short Film
“My Cross to Bear”
Best First Feature Film
“The Historian”
Best Long Island Short Film
“Reaching Home”
Best Long Island Feature Film
“Bridge and Tunnel”
Alan Fortunoff Humanitarian Film Award
“Everyone Deserves a Decent Life”
Best Short Film
Best Feature Film
“Cigarette Soup”
Best Story
“Gli Zii”
Best Director
Jury Award for a Short Film
“Until Death”
Jury Award for a Feature Film
“Hitting Home”
Gold Pass Award
“Trouble With Women”
Audience Award
“Charlie Mantle”
Special Awards

Best Actress in a Short Film
Joy Shatz – “Wild Woman”
Best Actress in a Feature Film
Florentine Krafft – “Tempo Girl”
Honorable Mention for Best Actress in a Feature Film
Marion Elaine – “Do You Think I’m Pretty”
Best Supporting Actress in a Short Film
Mary Ellen Schneider – “Graduation”
Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film
Lisa Bruhlmann – “Tempo Girl”
Best Actor in a Short Film-Tie
Lukas Hassel  – “Into the Dark”
Graham Powel – “Park 51″
Best Actor in a Feature Film
William Sadler – “The Historian”
Best Supporting Actor in a Short Film
Armen Garo – “Graduation”
Best Supporting Actor in a Feature
John Cullum – “The Historian”
Honorable Mention for Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film
Jose Barros – “Tempo Girl”
 Technical Awards
Best Original Song
“Here Comes the Wolf”- John Nolan-Bridge and Tunnel
Best Original Score-Tie
“A Man on the Edge_ – Joff Busch
“Modern Nature” – Alexander Leon
Honorable Mention for Best Original Score
“Moustache” – Dan Redfeld
Best Cinematography in a Short Film
“Graduation” -Matt Bockelman
Honorable Mention for Best Cinematography in a Short Film
“Rab da Vaasta” (For God’s Sake)-NN Raghavendra Kumar
Best Cinematography in a Feature Film
“Trouble with Women” – Patrick Ginnetty
Best Editing
“The Boy and The Bus” – Matt Chodan
Honorable Mentions for Best Editing
Robert La Rosa – “Return”
Jackie Xerri – “Mint Chip”
Best Art Direction
“Mr. Ideas”
​For more information on LIIFE,  visit:

Leave A Reply